Thursday, October 2, 2014

GUEST REVIEW: WHAT I THOUGHT WAS TRUE by Huntley Fitzpatrick




Title: What I Thought Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Genres: YA, Romance
Reviewed by: Ellen Fritz
Ellen’s rating: 4/5

SUMMARY

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.




REVIEW

Comfortably paced and filled with summer fun, romance, and some drama, What I Thought Was True is a relaxing read. With a new summer job, a crush on handsome Cassidy Summers, and a cousin with an obsession to become captain of the swim team, Gwen Castle has an eventful and illuminating summer.

The magic of this book is all in the characters and their extremely entertaining interaction. Gwen is a thoroughly fleshed out main character with all the normal doubts, desires and dreams of any healthy, balanced teenager. Although she often feels that boys just want her as a means to an end or, perhaps, a passing interest, she is still willing to take her chances with Cass in hope of the dream relationship that her best friend, Vivien, and her cousin, Nic, has. Ultimately wanting to do the right and honest thing, she is horrified when her father gives her some extremely dubious advice.

Cassidy Summers, the other main character, gives the impression of relaxed casualness. He seems to be the perfect romantic and hard working island yard boy, yet, one gets the impression that he might be keeping secrets from Gwen.

From Grandpa Ben and nasty old Mrs. Partridge, to despicable Henry Ellington and Gwen's mentally handicapped little brother, Emory, the author created a rich cast of highly imaginative and realistic characters.

Although this book is by no means the kind of suspenseful read that will get your adrenalin going, there are a few instances where I most certainly wanted to resort to a bit of nail biting.  It is a heartwarming, romance-filled story with realistic and often touching human interaction, some betrayal and a lot of depth. This lovely clean read for young adults can definitely be enjoyed by adults as well!








 Amazon    *    Barnes & Noble



ABOUT the AUTHOR


Huntley Fitzpatrick grew up dreamy and distracted in coastal Connecticut. She flourished in a family of bookworms where everyone always had their nose in a book. She kept an exhaustively thorough journal which frightened her boyfriends but has proved very useful in her career as a writer. Her debut contemporary Romance, MY LIFE NEXT DOOR, was published in June of 2012 by Penguin-Dial for Young Readers. Now she laughs with and eavesdrops on her six children who provide her with perspective and material. She is represented by the amazing Christina Hogrebe of the Jane Rotrosen Agency.



Website    *    Facebook    *    Twitter    *    Goodreads



Follow us with:


No comments: